Without a baby blues

I don’t often feel sad, but something simple can trigger my sadness. Last night, a lovely 20 something girl who worked behind the bar I was at, announced that she was pregnant. Everybody cooed and congratulated her, myself included, but deep inside I wanted to let out a big sigh and feel sorry for myself. It’s the same when my friends tell me that they are pregnant. I am so happy for them, but I also feel short changed.

Now, I know that being childless is not the end of the world, and there are worst things in life. I am also not the kind of person to wallow in self pity. Some days, I actually feel liberated because I have so much freedom, unlike my friends who can’t even have a sleep in in the morning. I am not one of those women who so longs for a child, they will do absolutely anything to get one, even if it means going to a surrogate baby factory in India (which I believe to be totally immoral by the way). I just wonder why some people seem to breeze through life, whilst others get shat on from a great height. “Life’s not fair” must be one of the truest sayings known to man.

I love reading your comments! Go for it!

