A difficult day

Today a lady from the NSPCC ( national society for the prevention of cruely to children) came to see the children and do an assembly about childline. She talked to them about what they should do if they needed someone to talk to and explained that childline was there to help if they were upset or unhappy. It was a pretty good assembly, and the children were hanging off her every word.

During the assembly she revealed a huge picture board of a little boy’s face who looked really sad. She told quite an intense and detailed story about how the boy had been neglected and how he had to fend for himself and his little sister because his mother couldn’t cope. She ended the assembly by showing another picture of the boy after he had been helped by the NSPCC smiling and happy. The picture was probably of a model who is looked after perfectly well, but the story of the boy would have been true.

As I listened to the story of the neglected child, I could feel myself feeling tense, and a quivery sensation started to rise up from my chest into my face. I knew if I didn’t hold it together I would find it difficult to stop myself from crying. This would would have been awful due to the fact that I was sat in front of 200 children and their teachers.

I really wish I could stop being so emotional! Anything about children being neglected and abused sends my tear ducts into overload. I know children are being hurt everyday, that’s life today unfortunately, but to have it on a huge board in your face first thing in the morning was not the best start to my Wednesday.

After the assembly, and after choking back the tears that I managed to keep to myself, I went into the staffroom for a cuppa. The other teachers were discussing dogs and I mentioned to the lady sat next me that I wanted a dog, but didn’t think it was fair to get one when I was working full time. She then said that when I have children I could get a dog because then I would probably be at home. It’s amazing how often children come up in conversations when the conversation is nothing to do with them. Anyway, I didn’t really know how to react so I decided to just tell her that I couldn’t have children because I had had a hysterectomy two years ago. After the initial “oh “from her, she continued the conversation and stated that I could possibly get two dogs to make up for the lack of children. It was a strange a response I thought, but at least she didn’t pity me and do a sharp exit like most people do. I wish I hadn’t told her now though. It felt a bit awkward and too serious a subject matter after talking casually about dogs. I think talking about childlessness will always feel awkward and people will always presume you want or can have a family. After all, it’s the most natural thing in the world for most.

So that was my day. To top it off I’ve got a horrible cold, and I’m getting a bit tired of all the snow and ice. It was fun at first, but now I’m fed up of clearing the ice from my car and listening to my pupils moaning about losing their hats, gloves and scarves! In my day we had gloves on strings that went through our coat so we couldn’t lose them. What happened to that great invention?

2 thoughts on “A difficult day

  1. Im the same when listening to reports of children being abused/neglected. I always wonder why Mother Nature allows people to have children they dont want but for those who do want them, we cant! I donate to the NSPCC every month and have been doing so for years. At least that way I feel like i am doing something. We have various charity events in my pub for children’s charities as well. I have two dogs as well and they are my babies. Plenty of love and cuddles off them x

I love reading your comments! Go for it!

