If it’s not one thing it’s another part 2

I went to the doctors tonight to find out more about my ovarian cysts. One is 2cm big and may be due to endometriosis ( a chocolate cyst what ever that is). I’ve had a hysterectomy, so I’m bit confused how parts of my womb got there, but apparently it does happen. Weird. The other cyst on my right ovary is more of a worry because it’s 7cm big and has a line down the middle that needs checking out.

The doctor said it’s VERY unlikely, but it could be cancer because it isn’t just a clear mass and it has other elements to it. He didn’t bring the cancer thing up I did, so he was just being honest. It sounds dodgy to me so I am pretty anxious to get it sorted it out. I’ve been googling ovarian cancer ( I know I shouldn’t, but I can’t help it) and the symptoms for ovarian cancer are not like mine, but of course that doesn’t rule it out. Oh and I’ve even got a cyst on my cervix! If there was an olympic sport for the most cysts grown in 6 months I would win.

So now it’s the old waiting game to see the gynecologist. I have to have a blood test on Monday to check my hormone levels and marker thingys for cancer. The doctor said blood tests aren’t conclusive, but are useful to have.

My husband is due to have an operation next week too, so he really doesn’t need more drama. He’s a operation virgin, so his anxiety levels are already through the roof. If I could get away with not telling him about my problems I would, but I can’t disguise the fact that I’m upset or that I’ve been to the doctors. My mum has just had radiotherapy for breast cancer and finished her treatment last week, so until she’s feeling better and her burns are healed, I am going to keep quiet about my ovarian troubles for now.

I wish I was born a man.

9 thoughts on “If it’s not one thing it’s another part 2

  1. Hi. I’ve been following your blog for a few weeks now and I just had to leave a comment as your story is so similar to mine it’s spooky! I had a hysterectomy four years ago due to very large fibroids. Last summer I found out I had developed ovarian cysts that they said were linked to endometriosis. Again this was a huge shock as nobody told me during my original operation that I had endo. My doctor told me that it can happen after a hysterectomy as tiny fragmets of the womb lining can be left behind and can implant in other places. I have just undergone surgery in January to remove my ovary as it was too badly damaged to save and in addition to this my doctor found small patches of endo on my bladder and my stomach lining and I had grown some tiny new fibroids on my cervix which apparently almost never happens!

    I wanted to share my story with you so that you don’t feel like you are alone in dealing with this. I know how difficult it is as I did not have any children before my operation and I too am a primary teacher so I completely get where you are coming from when I read your posts on your blog. Best of luck with your doctor’s appointment, I hope all goes as well as possible!

    • Hi Janey,

      Thank you so much for commenting, I am sorry you too have had a similar story to me. And I agree, it is very spooky!
      Maybe it’s quite common for this to happen especially as we are still ovulating. The egg must have to go somewhere, so maybe it’s just sitting at the end of the ovary and growing into a nice big cyst, instead of wandering down the dead ended fallopian tube. Who knows? I think hormones have a lot to answer to though and I don’t think doctors take this into account as much as they should. It’s a bit weird that fibroids grow and then cysts when they’ve gone. Growths don’t just appear for no reason. I asked for a hormone test and he agreed so it pays to be proactive I think.

      I want to ask you all about your operation, but I’m a bit of chicken to find out yet. Maybe another time I will pick your brains about it all. I don’t want to jump ahead of myself and start a vicious worrying cycle. One step at a time I think, I’ve had enough medical info today.

      Thanks again for commenting it’s good to know I’m not the only one, and it’s good to find people who understand.

      Take care xx

      • I know what you mean about the hormone thing. I asked after my first op to have mine checked and my GP told me we didn’t need to as I would only worry about the results! I won’t be falling for that one again! I’m waiting to see my consultant next week to see how we move forward from here on managing the endo.

        I think you are wise not to get into a cycle of worrying, it’s best to just take one day at a time and only think about things when you need to. Feel free to ask me about the op any time if you need to and I know it’s easier said than done but try not to worry too much. Take care xx

      • That’s absolutely fine, whenever you need to. I just had to comment and let you know I’m dealing with the same thing as I know how lonely and scary it can be. Good luck xx

  2. Hi! I just happened upon your blog and wanted to comment about your cysts, since my doctor found something similar with me recently (It’s normal to comment on a stranger’s ovaries, right? Ha Ha). I was also worried that the “cystic mass” they found during an ultrasound was cancer and spent more time than I’d like to admit googling ovarian cancer. The doctor mentioned that it had solid and fluid components, and had septations (they actually thought it was two cysts, but is just one big one). I had an MRI, which showed it was a benign dermoid cyst. They’re relatively common, so it’s possible that’s what yours is too. And, ovarian cancer is very rare for premenopausal women. Good luck to you!

  3. I personally think it’s good that you have looked up ovarian cancer and have thought of the possibility. The reason I say this is because I had a large chocolate cyst that was 12cm. My doctor said they were confident it wasn’t cancer, but it had to be removed because of the size. After my surgery, they told me they also removed my ovary, and that pathology said it wasn’t cancer, but it did look odd. Anyway…4 weeks later and the doctor told me I have ovarian cancer. There is a 1% chance that a cyst could be cancer, I’m sure I have the 30something demographic covered, but it doesn’t hurt to be prepared with some questions. I was going in to talk about IVF and now I’m having a hysterectomy, it hit me like a ton of bricks because I wasn’t prepared when they’ve been telling me for a year that it was just a cyst along with lots of endometriosis.

  4. Thank you for your comment. I am sorry to hear your cyst was cancerous. I hope you are on the road to recovery soon and that your hysterectomy goes as well as can be expected. I know it’s a small possibility that the cyst may be cancerous, but I am trying not to dwell on it as I might drive myself potty. It’s awful that you didn’t get a true diagnosis for a year! I am really sorry you are going through this, it’s a true nightmare.
    It’s horrible when things you expect are going to happen don’t happen. My hysterectomy was suppose to be a myomectomy, but due to heamoridging in theatre I was given a hysterectomy. I woke up in intensive care to find out they’d whipped my womb out instead of just my fibroids. It was probably the worst week of my life so far and hope it stays that way.
    With regards to your hysterectomy, all I can say is take it easy, don’t rush your recovery and expect an emotional rollar coaster. I think I tried to do too much soon and it upset me when I found I couldn’t.
    Thanks for dropping by, I will definitaly arm myself with questions. Xx

I love reading your comments! Go for it!

