An amazing man

I just wanted to write a quick post about the extraordinary man Professor Sir Robert Edwards who died on the 10th April 2013 at the age of 87.
His pioneering work resulted in the first test tube baby, Louise Brown, to be born in 1978 and since then 5 million babies have been born through IVF. He was awarded the Nobel Prize for medicine in 2010 and he was Knighted in 2011.
His work has changed the lives of so many people worldwide, and his legacy will live on.

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2013/apr/11/robert-edwards-ivf-pioneer

Update

Since writing this post I was discussing his death with my husband, who told me that yesterday he was upset because he heard that Sir Robert Edwards was quoted as saying:

“The most important thing in life is having a child.”

So where does that leave us? Does that mean that because we can’t have children our lives are not important. Why would such an intelligent man, who understood the pains of being infertile make such a remark? How are childless couples supposed to feel good about themselves when an accomplished man such as him believes this?

Do childless couples feel saddened by their circumstances because they truely want a child, or is it because society forces us to believe it’s the only thing worth having?

My blog’s tag line is “In search for my life purpose” and when I first started this blog I probably would have agreed with Sir Robert Edwards. Back then, I was desperately seeking meaning to my life because I was still coming to terms with my circumstances. Now, I am a lot more relaxed about it all and have the attitude of what will be will be. I am still looking for plan B, but I’m no longer looking for the ultimate purpose to my life. When did life get so complicated anyway?

I love reading your comments! Go for it!

