The end to an uncertain time

Yesterday, finally, I got my thorough biopsy results back, and I am relieved beyond belief to find out that both cysts were benign. They were both caused by endometriosis, (which I didn’t even know I suffered from) otherwise known as chocolate cysts.

The surgeon was lovely and he didn’t beat about the bush to tell me the diagnosis. Straight away, before we’d even sat down, he said it was good news! I sensed Gs shoulders instantly drop. He explained that my pelvis area has a lot of endometriosis and adhesions from my previous surgery, and that they had removed a lot of it. Hopefully, the cysts won’t grow back on my one ovary, but there’re no guarantees. Also, because I don’t have either a borderline cancer or cancer itself, I won’t need any follow up scans. So, I am now officially discharged from the oncology department, and it feels really good.

My understanding of endometriosis is when part of the uterus grows in other areas of your body.

What confuses me, is the fact that I don’t have a uterus and often people cure their symptoms of endo by having a hysterectomy. Apparently though, bits of uterus can be left behind after a hysterectomy and it is those bits that still grow. So maybe, before my hyster, I didn’t have endo, but now I do? I don’t know, as long as I don’t get any painful sypmtoms I’m not going to worry about it, but I am going to research more about it so that I can try and prevent further growths. I have heard that diet and acupucture can help, so when I’m over the fact I don’t have cancer, I will dive into as much endo information as I can.

This experience has made me appreciate my life and how frightening a cancer diagnosis must be. In the beginning, when I was first given a blood test to check my Ca125 marker levels, I secretly cried buckets worrying, and felt scared like I never have before. It was the worse feeling ever, and I never want to go through it again. I have decided to make a conscious effort to eat healthly and exercise regulary because I know I have slipped into the lazy convenience food trap, epecially when I’m working. I have also decided that I would like to volunteer for the charity Macmillian Cancer Support.

They do a wonderful job, supporting such brave people who have a horrible disease. I only had a glimpse of what it might be like to have cancer, and it was a real eye opener to what people are going through on a daily basis.

Macmillian called me when I got home from the hospital after my surgery to make sure I was settled and that I understood what the next steps were. I was really grateful and felt properly looked after.They said I could call them at anytime night or day, and this was to me, who hadn’t even got a diagnosis yet. Lovely people and a great charity.

So, that’s that. The end of a horrible chapter, that I hope I will never have to repeat.

I love reading your comments! Go for it!

